Joe Jonas Comes Clean

https://i1.wp.com/www.eonline.com/eol_images/Entire_Site/2013112/rs_634x799-131202081245-634-joe-jonas-new-york-magazine.ls.12213_copy.jpg

Former Disney Star Joe Jonas is coming clean in a new interview in which he talks about losing his virginity, smoking pot for the first time and more.

In an essay in New York Magazine called “Joe Jonas: My life as a Jonas Brother” the former band member starts out the interview by talking about Fame at an early age:

“We didn’t want to disappoint anyone—our parents, our fans, our employers—so we put incredible pressure on ourselves, the kind of pressure that no teenager should be under. We were just kids. That’s the reality. We were frightened little kids. So you got all this responsibility that’s foisted upon you and you’re expected to be perfect. I went through media training, and I hated it”

Next he talks about how it was being a “Disney Kid” and all the expectations that come with that.

“Disney is great at creating fame…but being a part of a company like that comes with certain expectations. Not overtly, but there was a subtle vibe. We were working with Disney in 2007 when the Vanessa Hudgens nude-photo scandal happened. We heard that she had to be in the Disney offices for a whole day because they were trying to figure out how to keep her on lockdown.”

As you probably remember, the Jonas Brothers all wore promise rings that meant they wouldn’t be sexually active until they were married or found the perfect girl. “The topic that dominated news coverage of us for a long time was the whole promise-ring thing. We couldn’t escape it…Because of our age, because of Disney, because of those rings, there were so many things throughout our career that we had to sugarcoat. If a lyric was slightly sexual, someone at the record company would tell us we had to change it. I lost my virginity when I was 20. I did other stuff before then, but I was sexually active at 20. I’m glad I waited for the right person, because you look back and you go, ‘That girl was bats–t crazy. I’m glad I didn’t go there.”

So who could be the girl that he lost his virginity too? Sources close to the star are saying that it could be his ex – Twilight star Ashley Greene. The two were dating at the time but soon broke up due to distance.

Nick Jonas, Kevin Jonas, Joe Jonas, Jonas Brothers 2011

Later Joe talks about his first experience smoking weed. He says “The first time I smoked weed was with Demi and Miley. I must have been 17 or 18. They kept saying, ‘Try it! Try it!’ so I gave it a shot, and it was all right. I don’t even smoke weed that often anymore.”

Finally I’m sure all the JB fans are wanting to know the real reason behind the band’s breakup. Joe spills all the details and gives us an inside look into all of the details surronding the band’s breakup.

“We hit a place where we just weren’t jelling on the same things, and we didn’t want to become a band that was worried about the fact that people didn’t understand how cool we were. The whole situation was breaking us up as a family, and we ultimately felt like we were holding each other back.

“Things came to a head when we had a meeting where we thought we were going to talk about how to release our new music and it ended up shifting into this huge fight. That was the first time we were really honest with one another about a lot of stuff we weren’t happy with. The fight got loud. I was screaming. When Nick presented the idea of closing a chapter and moving on, I freaked out. I didn’t know whether to pick up and leave or just punch something, because I was furious. I’d spent so long working with my brothers on this band, and in my mind, it felt like we were just giving up. It didn’t make sense to me.

“But once I started peeling back the layers, I understood. There were a lot of dysfunctional things going on…After that meeting, we took a night to think about things, met again, and nothing was resolved, so we decided to take a week and think about it. Then we canceled the tour. It would have been really tough for me to go on a last-hurrah tour. I didn’t care about the money; I just wanted to figure out the right, healthy way for us to be good as a family.”

Joe certainly unlocked the vault on all of these things that his fans might’ve not known about his life. It just goes to show you that he’s human just like the rest of us!

Leave a Reply

