Janelle Monáe Is Not Here For Male Chauvinism

by MAYA DAWIT

Twitter has always been the best platform to help connect everyday people with those they look up to. Whether it’s getting a reply from Nicki Minaj, a favorite from Oprah or even the all-coveted follow-back, Twitter breaks down the barrier that lies between any two people.

It’s also a great medium to sound off on your haters, and that’s just what singer and style queen Janelle Monáe did this past week.

Miss Monáe was just minding her own business when she received this message from a so-called fan.

hater

Not one to miss a beat, Janelle hit homeboy with this line and shut him down quickly.

CCe9QOmW0AApQdd (1)
Courtesy of Allure.com

 

Their exchange got a lot of attention (her tweet has gotten over 3,000 retweets and 4,000 favorites) and Monáe is being praised for her quick and powerful response.

 

photo 2
Courtesy of twitter.com

 

photo 1

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The user has since made his Twitter account private after receiving, what I can only imagine, is a huge amount of backlash for his ignorance and pig-like attitude. He even issued an apology to Janelle via his Twitter account.

Courtesy of Allure.com
Courtesy of Allure.com

What some men don’t seem to understand is that women aren’t here to be used as your play things.  I can’t speak for all women when I say this, but I think it is safe to say that we don’t quite care for your opinion about how we dress (or act) and unless asked, please feel free to keep your thoughts to yourself.

Janelle  opened up about why she dresses the way she does in an interview she did back in 2012.

“’When I started my musical career I was a maid, I used to clean houses and the girls I used to clean houses with used to always beg me to sing while we cleaned. I lived in a boarding house with five other girls and I would sell my $5 CD out of my room. My mother was a proud janitor, my step-father who raised me worked at the post office, and my father was a trash man. They all wore a uniform and that’s why I wear my uniform to honor them. I have work to do. I have people to uplift. I have people to inspire. And today I wear my uniform proudly.'”

What an incredible and inspiring woman. In a time where the music industry is plagued with a number of talent-less artists who need to use their bodies as a selling point, it is a breath of fresh air to know there is at least staying true to her art.

Janelle, you keep slaying the game girl!

Courtesy of tumblr.com
Courtesy of tumblr.com
Leave a Reply

